Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

ZIPS Dry Cleaners franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Professional ServicesFDD entity year 2004

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit ZIPS Dry Cleaners's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. ZIPS Dry Cleaners's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening a ZIPS Dry Cleaners franchise takes $739,700 – $1,175,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $37,500. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 5%. To qualify, ZIPS Dry Cleaners asks for $500,000 in liquid cash and a $1,500,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

ZIPS Dry Cleaners franchise costs and fees

The ZIPS Dry Cleaners all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$37,500
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$739,700 to $1,175,000
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$1,500,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$500,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$739,700 to $1,175,000
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales6%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 5%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full ZIPS Dry Cleaners cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How ZIPS Dry Cleaners's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where ZIPS Dry Cleaners's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $739,700 — about 8.7× the Professional Services median of $84,700.
  • Initial franchise fee of $37,500 — about in line with the Professional Services median of $39,700.

Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises

Get free info about ZIPS Dry Cleaners

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about ZIPS Dry Cleaners + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How ZIPS Dry Cleaners's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2020: began the window at 12 units; 51 units opened, 1 closed, ending at 66 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

51 units opened and 1 closed between 2012 and 2020.2012: 2 opened2013: 22 opened2013: 1 closed2014: 2 opened2015: 4 opened2016: 4 opened2017: 6 opened2019: 8 opened2020: 3 opened
100%
of units at risk 2017–2020 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. ZIPS Dry Cleaners began the window at 12 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 51 units opened and 1 closed between 2012 and 2020.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for ZIPS Dry Cleaners or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask ZIPS Dry Cleaners for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether ZIPS Dry Cleaners is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether ZIPS Dry Cleaners grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only ZIPS Dry Cleaners can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the ZIPS Dry Cleaners franchise

ZIPS Dry Cleaners is a professional services franchisor with 66 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2020, it began the window at 12 units; its filings record 51 unit openings and 1 closures, ending at 66 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is Zips Franchising LLC. The filings indicate financing options are available; terms come from the franchisor, not from us.

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

You will operate a dry cleaning and laundry services business under the name “ZIPS®”.

Excerpted from ZIPS Dry Cleaners's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

ZIPS Dry Cleaners franchise: quick answers

How much does a ZIPS Dry Cleaners franchise cost?
$739,700 – $1,175,000 all-in to open, per ZIPS Dry Cleaners's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many ZIPS Dry Cleaners units are there?
66 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have ZIPS Dry Cleaners's units held up?
100% of units at risk between 2017 and 2020 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).