Blue Nose franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Blue Nose franchise takes $9,090 – $18,650 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $8,950 – $13,350. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for Blue Nose, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.
Blue Nose franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $8,950 | $13,350 | $8,950 to $13,350 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $9,090 | $18,650 | $9,090 to $18,650 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $9,090 | $18,650 | $9,090 to $18,650 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Blue Nose's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
See the full Blue Nose cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Blue Nose's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Blue Nose's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $9,090 — about 89% below the Professional Services median of $84,700.
- Initial franchise fee of $8,950 — about 77% below the Professional Services median of $39,700.
Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Blue Nose's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2020–2020: began the window at 0 units; 11 units opened, 0 closed, ending at 11 units.
Not enough history to compute a survival figure — we need at least three years of unit data, and we don't extrapolate.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Blue Nose or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Blue Nose for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Blue Nose is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Blue Nose grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Blue Nose can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Blue Nose franchise
Blue Nose is a professional services franchisor with 11 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2020 and 2020, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 11 unit openings and 0 closures, ending at 11 units.
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
The Blue Nose franchise encompasses a range of products and experiences associated with the iconic racing schooner from Nova Scotia, which symbolizes Canadian maritime heritage. This includes model ships, clothing, literature, tourism experiences, and art, all celebrating the legacy of the Blue Nose and its significance in Canadian culture.
Blue Nose franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Blue Nose franchise cost?
- $9,090 – $18,650 all-in to open, per Blue Nose's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Blue Nose units are there?
- 11 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).