D1 franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a D1 franchise takes $127,450 – $634,868 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $48,500 – $89,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 6% on sales. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
D1 franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $48,500 | $89,000 | $48,500 to $89,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $127,450 | $634,868 | $127,450 to $634,868 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $127,450 | $634,868 | $127,450 to $634,868 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means D1's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 6% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 7 years |
See the full D1 cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How D1's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where D1's disclosed cost sits against the Health & Fitness category:
- Minimum startup cost of $127,450 — about 31% below the Health & Fitness median of $184,861.
- Initial franchise fee of $48,500 — about in line with the Health & Fitness median of $49,000.
Category medians are computed from the Health & Fitness brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Health & Fitness franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How D1's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2015–2021: began the window at 0 units; 69 units opened, 7 closed, ending at 63 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for D1 or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask D1 for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether D1 is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether D1 grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only D1 can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the D1 franchise
D1 is a health & fitness franchisor with 63 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2015 and 2021, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 69 unit openings and 7 closures, ending at 63 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is D1 Sports Franchise, LLC.
Disclosure filings report 1 franchise-related lawsuit. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)
From the franchisor's materials
The franchise is the right to own and operate a training facility offering athletic-based scholastic and adult group training, coaching and personal training, and related productsand services under the "D1" name and marks.
D1 franchise: quick answers
- How much does a D1 franchise cost?
- $127,450 – $634,868 all-in to open, per D1's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many D1 units are there?
- 63 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have D1's units held up?
- 92.6% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).