F45 Training franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a F45 Training franchise takes $294,200 – $719,100 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $213,000 – $239,600. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 2.5% on sales. To qualify, F45 Training asks for $100,000 in liquid cash. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
F45 Training franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $213,000 | $239,600 | $213,000 to $239,600 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $294,200 | $719,100 | $294,200 to $719,100 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $100,000 | $100,000 | $100,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $294,200 | $719,100 | $294,200 to $719,100 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means F45 Training's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 2.5% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 5 years |
See the full F45 Training cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How F45 Training's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where F45 Training's disclosed cost sits against the Health & Fitness category:
- Minimum startup cost of $294,200 — about 1.6× the Health & Fitness median of $184,861.
- Initial franchise fee of $213,000 — about 4.3× the Health & Fitness median of $49,000.
Category medians are computed from the Health & Fitness brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Health & Fitness franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How F45 Training's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2015–2021: began the window at 0 units; 533 units opened, 17 closed, ending at 597 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for F45 Training or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask F45 Training for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether F45 Training is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether F45 Training grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only F45 Training can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the F45 Training franchise
F45 Training is a health & fitness franchisor with 597 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2015 and 2021, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 533 unit openings and 17 closures, ending at 597 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is F45 Training.
Disclosure filings report 1 franchise-related lawsuit. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)
From the franchisor's materials
The franchise is for the establishment and operation of an F45 training studio ("F45 Studio" or "Studio") which provides exercise training that involves alternating periods of short, intense anaerobic exercise.
F45 Training franchise: quick answers
- How much does a F45 Training franchise cost?
- $294,200 – $719,100 all-in to open, per F45 Training's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many F45 Training units are there?
- 597 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have F45 Training's units held up?
- 97.3% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).