Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Experimax franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

RetailFDD entity year 2013

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Experimax's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. Experimax's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening an Experimax franchise takes $146,339 – $351,140 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $92,000 – $134,400. To qualify, Experimax asks for $75,000 in liquid cash. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Experimax franchise costs and fees

The Experimax all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$92,000 to $134,400
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$146,339 to $351,140
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$75,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$146,339 to $351,140
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Experimax's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreementNot disclosed
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Experimax cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Experimax's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Experimax's disclosed cost sits against the Retail category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $146,339 — about in line with the Retail median of $165,000.
  • Initial franchise fee of $92,000 — about 2.5× the Retail median of $36,750.

Category medians are computed from the Retail brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Retail franchises

Get free info about Experimax

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Experimax + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Experimax's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2015–2017: began the window at 0 units; 120 units opened, 24 closed, ending at 94 units.

120 units opened and 24 closed between 2015 and 2017.2015: 17 opened2016: 60 opened2016: 5 closed2017: 43 opened2017: 19 closed
80%
of units at risk 2015–2017 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Experimax began the window at 0 units. 120 units opened and 24 closed between 2015 and 2017.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Experimax or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Experimax for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Experimax is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Experimax grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Experimax can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Experimax franchise

Experimax is a retail franchisor with 94 units at the end of 2017 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2015 and 2017, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 120 unit openings and 24 closures, ending at 94 units. Its parent company is Experimac Franchising, LLC.

Litigation history not in our data for Experimax — FDD Item 3 is the primary source to check directly.

From the franchisor's materials

There’s never been a better time to invest in a computer and cell phone repair franchise. Laptops, cell phones, tablets, and other mobile technology are necessities in the 21st century. To help our customers stay connected to their friends, families, and employers, Experimax provides a number of crucial services to our clients. Quick and affordable repairs, trade-ins of old devices, and sales of certified pre-owned devices all take place in our franchises.

Excerpted from Experimax's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Experimax franchise: quick answers

How much does an Experimax franchise cost?
$146,339 – $351,140 all-in to open, per Experimax's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Experimax units are there?
94 units at the end of 2017 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Experimax's units held up?
80% of units at risk between 2015 and 2017 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).