Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

GameTruck franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Lodging & LeisureFDD entity year 2008

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit GameTruck's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a GameTruck franchise takes $170,000 – $359,199 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $117,700 – $200,699. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 7% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%. To qualify, GameTruck asks for $50,000 in liquid cash and a $150,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

GameTruck franchise costs and fees

The GameTruck all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$117,700 to $200,699
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$170,000 to $359,199
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$150,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$50,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$170,000 to $359,199
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales7%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 2%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreementNot disclosed
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full GameTruck cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How GameTruck's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where GameTruck's disclosed cost sits against the Lodging & Leisure category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $170,000 — about 97% below the Lodging & Leisure median of $6,130,275.
  • Initial franchise fee of $117,700 — about 1.9× the Lodging & Leisure median of $63,600.

Category medians are computed from the Lodging & Leisure brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Lodging & Leisure franchises

Get free info about GameTruck

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about GameTruck + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How GameTruck's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2021: began the window at 47 units; 45 units opened, 26 closed, ending at 51 units. (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

45 units opened and 26 closed between 2012 and 2021.2012: 20 opened2012: 4 closed2013: 10 opened2013: 4 closed2014: 5 opened2014: 5 closed2015: 5 opened2015: 2 closed2016: 2 opened2016: 3 closed2017: 1 opened2017: 3 closed2019: 1 opened2019: 1 closed2020: 2 closed2021: 1 opened2021: 2 closed
92.3%
of units at risk 2019–2021 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. GameTruck began the window at 47 units. Note — partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 45 units opened and 26 closed between 2012 and 2021.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for GameTruck or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask GameTruck for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether GameTruck is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether GameTruck grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only GameTruck can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the GameTruck franchise

GameTruck is a lodging & leisure franchisor with 51 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2021, it began the window at 47 units; its filings record 45 unit openings and 26 closures, ending at 51 units (partial records: 2018 is not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). Its parent company is GameTruck Licensing, LLC.

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

The franchisee will establish and operate a GameTruck Franchised Business including "GameTruck" branded video game trailers, laser tag and other group entertainment offerings to bring excitement and entertainment to people and groups of all ages within a specified geographic area.

Excerpted from GameTruck's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

GameTruck franchise: quick answers

How much does a GameTruck franchise cost?
$170,000 – $359,199 all-in to open, per GameTruck's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many GameTruck units are there?
51 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have GameTruck's units held up?
92.3% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).