JOHNSTONE SUPPLY franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a JOHNSTONE SUPPLY franchise takes $808,200 – $3,402,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $72,000 – $117,000. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for JOHNSTONE SUPPLY, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.
JOHNSTONE SUPPLY franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $72,000 | $117,000 | $72,000 to $117,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $808,200 | $3,402,000 | $808,200 to $3,402,000 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $808,200 | $3,402,000 | $808,200 to $3,402,000 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means JOHNSTONE SUPPLY's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Not disclosed |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
See the full JOHNSTONE SUPPLY cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How JOHNSTONE SUPPLY's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where JOHNSTONE SUPPLY's disclosed cost sits against the Retail category:
- Minimum startup cost of $808,200 — about 4.9× the Retail median of $165,000.
- Initial franchise fee of $72,000 — about 2× the Retail median of $36,750.
Category medians are computed from the Retail brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Retail franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for JOHNSTONE SUPPLY or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask JOHNSTONE SUPPLY for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether JOHNSTONE SUPPLY is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether JOHNSTONE SUPPLY grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only JOHNSTONE SUPPLY can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the JOHNSTONE SUPPLY franchise
JOHNSTONE SUPPLY is a retail franchisor in our disclosure-filing dataset (as of 2026-05). Its parent company is Holdings LLC.
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
As a JOHNSTONE franchisee, you will continue to sell “Johnstone Product Offerings” including heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration equipment, repair and replacement parts and maintenance supplies for residential, light commercial and facilities maintenance.
JOHNSTONE SUPPLY franchise: quick answers
- How much does a JOHNSTONE SUPPLY franchise cost?
- $808,200 – $3,402,000 all-in to open, per JOHNSTONE SUPPLY's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).