MA Modern Acupuncture franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a MA Modern Acupuncture franchise takes $255,377 – $663,772 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $40,475. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 7% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
MA Modern Acupuncture franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $40,475 | $40,475 | $40,475 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $255,377 | $663,772 | $255,377 to $663,772 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $255,377 | $663,772 | $255,377 to $663,772 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means MA Modern Acupuncture's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 7% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 2% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 10 years |
See the full MA Modern Acupuncture cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How MA Modern Acupuncture's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where MA Modern Acupuncture's disclosed cost sits against the Health & Fitness category:
- Minimum startup cost of $255,377 — about 1.4× the Health & Fitness median of $184,861.
- Initial franchise fee of $40,475 — about 17% below the Health & Fitness median of $49,000.
Category medians are computed from the Health & Fitness brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Health & Fitness franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How MA Modern Acupuncture's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2019–2019: began the window at 435 units; 17 units opened, 1 closed, ending at 51 units.
Not enough history to compute a survival figure — we need at least three years of unit data, and we don't extrapolate.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for MA Modern Acupuncture or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask MA Modern Acupuncture for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether MA Modern Acupuncture is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether MA Modern Acupuncture grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only MA Modern Acupuncture can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the MA Modern Acupuncture franchise
MA Modern Acupuncture is a health & fitness franchisor with 51 units at the end of 2019 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2019 and 2019, it began the window at 435 units; its filings record 17 unit openings and 1 closures, ending at 51 units.
Disclosure filings report 1 franchise-related lawsuit. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)
From the franchisor's materials
We offer single location franchises that will conduct business under the name of MODERN ACUPUNCTURE and will own and operate a business that will manage or own centers that specialize in providing acupuncture services and products to the general public through licensed acupuncture professionals (a “Center” or “Location”). Each Location will report to and receive support directly and indirectly from our corporate headquarters.
MA Modern Acupuncture franchise: quick answers
- How much does a MA Modern Acupuncture franchise cost?
- $255,377 – $663,772 all-in to open, per MA Modern Acupuncture's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many MA Modern Acupuncture units are there?
- 51 units at the end of 2019 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).