Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Once Upon A Child franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

RetailSBA-eligibleFDD entity year 1988

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Once Upon A Child's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Opening a Once Upon A Child franchise takes $355,700 – $485,900 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $48,200 – $55,900. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 5% on sales. To qualify, Once Upon A Child asks for $75,000 in liquid cash and a $250,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

Once Upon A Child franchise costs and fees

The Once Upon A Child all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$48,200 to $55,900
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$355,700 to $485,900
Source-cited figureNet worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$250,000
Source-cited figureLiquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum$75,000
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$355,700 to $485,900
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales5%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Once Upon A Child cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Once Upon A Child's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Once Upon A Child's disclosed cost sits against the Retail category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $355,700 — about 2.2× the Retail median of $165,000.
  • Initial franchise fee of $48,200 — about 1.3× the Retail median of $36,750.

Category medians are computed from the Retail brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Retail franchises

Get free info about Once Upon A Child

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Once Upon A Child + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Once Upon A Child's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2021: began the window at 223 units; 107 units opened, 18 closed, ending at 401 units. (partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)

107 units opened and 18 closed between 2012 and 2021.2012: 16 opened2012: 1 closed2013: 20 opened2013: 3 closed2014: 24 opened2014: 2 closed2015: 15 opened2015: 2 closed2019: 12 opened2019: 3 closed2020: 16 opened2020: 5 closed2021: 4 opened2021: 2 closed
97.6%
of units at risk 2019–2021 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Once Upon A Child began the window at 223 units. Note — partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only. 107 units opened and 18 closed between 2012 and 2021.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Once Upon A Child or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Once Upon A Child for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Once Upon A Child is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Once Upon A Child grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Once Upon A Child can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Once Upon A Child franchise

Once Upon A Child is a retail franchisor with 401 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2021, it began the window at 223 units; its filings record 107 unit openings and 18 closures, ending at 401 units (partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). The filings indicate financing options are available; terms come from the franchisor, not from us.

Disclosure filings report 1 franchise-related lawsuit. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)

From the franchisor's materials

The franchisee will own and operate a Once Upon A Child retail store from which the franchisee will sell quality used and new children’s apparel, toys, equipment, furniture and accessories.

Excerpted from Once Upon A Child's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Once Upon A Child franchise: quick answers

How much does a Once Upon A Child franchise cost?
$355,700 – $485,900 all-in to open, per Once Upon A Child's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Once Upon A Child units are there?
401 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Once Upon A Child's units held up?
97.6% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).
Is Once Upon A Child SBA-eligible?
Once Upon A Child is flagged SBA-eligible in our dataset (as of 2026-05). Confirm current status on the SBA Franchise Directory before relying on it for financing.