Signal Health Group franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Signal Health Group franchise takes $40,200 – $290,300 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $29,500 – $69,500. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%. To qualify, Signal Health Group asks for $30,000 in liquid cash. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Signal Health Group franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $29,500 | $69,500 | $29,500 to $69,500 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $40,200 | $290,300 | $40,200 to $290,300 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $30,000 | $30,000 | $30,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $40,200 | $290,300 | $40,200 to $290,300 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Signal Health Group's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 5% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 2% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 10 years |
See the full Signal Health Group cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Signal Health Group's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Signal Health Group's disclosed cost sits against the Health & Fitness category:
- Minimum startup cost of $40,200 — about 78% below the Health & Fitness median of $184,861.
- Initial franchise fee of $29,500 — about 40% below the Health & Fitness median of $49,000.
Category medians are computed from the Health & Fitness brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Health & Fitness franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Signal Health Group's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2019–2022: began the window at 397 units; 140 units opened, 11 closed, ending at 7 units.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Signal Health Group or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Signal Health Group for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Signal Health Group is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Signal Health Group grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Signal Health Group can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Signal Health Group franchise
Signal Health Group is a health & fitness franchisor with 7 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2019 and 2022, it began the window at 397 units; its filings record 140 unit openings and 11 closures, ending at 7 units. Its parent company is Signal Health Group Franchise, LLC.
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
Signal Health Group Franchise, LLC ("Signal") is a franchisor of businesses that provide home-based personal support and companionship services to aging and/or disabled clients (collectively, "Care Services"). Franchisees may offer supplemental healthcare staffing services to institutional clients, such as hospitals, retirement facilities, and clinics. Signal franchisees operate under the SIGNAL HEALTH GROUP trade name.
Signal Health Group franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Signal Health Group franchise cost?
- $40,200 – $290,300 all-in to open, per Signal Health Group's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Signal Health Group units are there?
- 7 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Signal Health Group's units held up?
- 100% of units at risk between 2020 and 2022 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).