Tan Republic franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Tan Republic franchise takes $97,250 – $439,000 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $5,000 – $47,500. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Tan Republic franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $5,000 | $47,500 | $5,000 to $47,500 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $97,250 | $439,000 | $97,250 to $439,000 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $97,250 | $439,000 | $97,250 to $439,000 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Tan Republic's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 5% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 1% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 5 years |
See the full Tan Republic cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Tan Republic's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Tan Republic's disclosed cost sits against the Health & Fitness category:
- Minimum startup cost of $97,250 — about 47% below the Health & Fitness median of $184,861.
- Initial franchise fee of $5,000 — about 90% below the Health & Fitness median of $49,000.
Category medians are computed from the Health & Fitness brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Health & Fitness franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Tan Republic's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2012–2020: began the window at 46 units; 21 units opened, 5 closed, ending at 60 units. (partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only.)
Not enough history to compute a survival figure — we need at least three years of unit data, and we don't extrapolate.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Tan Republic or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Tan Republic for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Tan Republic is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Tan Republic grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Tan Republic can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Tan Republic franchise
Tan Republic is a health & fitness franchisor with 60 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2012 and 2020, it began the window at 46 units; its filings record 21 unit openings and 5 closures, ending at 60 units (partial records: 2016, 2017, 2018 are not in the source data — totals span the reported years only). The filings indicate financing options are available; terms come from the franchisor, not from us.
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
We are TAN REPUBLIC FRANCHISE COMPANY, LLC an Oregon limited liability company. We offer franchises to qualified individuals to own and operate a Tan Republic franchise under the "TAN REPUBLIC” names, logos, and Service Marks. Our franchisees offer upscale tanning, skin care, beauty treatments, and related spa services and merchandise to the public under the Service Marks (the "Method of Operation"). A CoBranded franchise is a Tan Republic franchise operated in connection with another compatible concept.
Tan Republic franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Tan Republic franchise cost?
- $97,250 – $439,000 all-in to open, per Tan Republic's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Tan Republic units are there?
- 60 units at the end of 2020 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).