Sonesta Simply Suites franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Sonesta Simply Suites franchise takes $14,004,407 – $19,203,913 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $80,171 – $129,916. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 3.5%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Sonesta Simply Suites franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $80,171 | $129,916 | $80,171 to $129,916 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $14,004,407 | $19,203,913 | $14,004,407 to $19,203,913 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $14,004,407 | $19,203,913 | $14,004,407 to $19,203,913 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means Sonesta Simply Suites's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 5% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 3.5% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 20 years |
See the full Sonesta Simply Suites cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Sonesta Simply Suites's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Sonesta Simply Suites's disclosed cost sits against the Lodging & Leisure category:
- Minimum startup cost of $14,004,407 — about 2.3× the Lodging & Leisure median of $6,130,275.
- Initial franchise fee of $80,171 — about 1.3× the Lodging & Leisure median of $63,600.
Category medians are computed from the Lodging & Leisure brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Lodging & Leisure franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Sonesta Simply Suites's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2022–2022: began the window at 0 units; 11 units opened, 0 closed, ending at 11 units.
Not enough history to compute a survival figure — we need at least three years of unit data, and we don't extrapolate.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Sonesta Simply Suites or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Sonesta Simply Suites for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Sonesta Simply Suites is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Sonesta Simply Suites grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Sonesta Simply Suites can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Sonesta Simply Suites franchise
Sonesta Simply Suites is a lodging & leisure franchisor with 11 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2022 and 2022, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 11 unit openings and 0 closures, ending at 11 units. Its parent company is Sonesta International Hotels Corporation.
Disclosure filings report 22 franchise-related lawsuits. Review Item 3 of the FDD. (as of 2026-05)
From the franchisor's materials
Sonesta Simply Suites is a hotel franchise under Sonesta International Hotels Corporation that specializes in extended stay accommodations, offering a home-like experience for travelers. With features like fully equipped kitchens, spacious living areas, and convenient locations, it caters to business travelers, relocating families, and budget-conscious vacationers.
Sonesta Simply Suites franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Sonesta Simply Suites franchise cost?
- $14,004,407 – $19,203,913 all-in to open, per Sonesta Simply Suites's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Sonesta Simply Suites units are there?
- 11 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).