Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

The Inside Coup franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Professional ServicesFDD entity year 2015

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit The Inside Coup's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. The Inside Coup's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening The Inside Coup franchise takes $42,900 – $48,700 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is not disclosed in the filings we cover. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 1%. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.

The Inside Coup franchise costs and fees

The The Inside Coup all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signingNot disclosed1
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$42,900 to $48,700
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$42,900 to $48,700
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means The Inside Coup's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales5%
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 1%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full The Inside Coup cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How The Inside Coup's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where The Inside Coup's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $42,900 — about 49% below the Professional Services median of $84,700.

Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises

Get free info about The Inside Coup

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about The Inside Coup + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How The Inside Coup's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2015–2017: began the window at 0 units; 7 units opened, 0 closed, ending at 7 units.

7 units opened and 0 closed between 2015 and 2017.2015: 1 opened2016: 2 opened2017: 4 opened
100%
of units at risk 2015–2017 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. The Inside Coup began the window at 0 units. 7 units opened and 0 closed between 2015 and 2017.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for The Inside Coup or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask The Inside Coup for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether The Inside Coup is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether The Inside Coup grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only The Inside Coup can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About The Inside Coup franchise

The Inside Coup is a professional services franchisor with 7 units at the end of 2017 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2015 and 2017, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 7 unit openings and 0 closures, ending at 7 units. Its parent company is The Inside Coup Franchising Company, Inc..

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

We will offer “The Inside Coup” franchises to qualified individuals and corporate enables for the operation of a business that produces a direct mail magazine As a franchisee, you will sell ads and market the magazine in local territories, which will fund your Business Our franchise agreement (the “Franchise Agreement”), which is attached to this Disclosure Document as Exhibit C, gives you the next to establish and operate one Business and the next to use the Proprietary Marks and the System solely with the operation of the Business, and solely within the territory granted to you We expect that you will operate your Franchised Business from a home office, if you are permitted to do so by local regulations You will sign a Franchise Agreement with respect to your first The Inside Coup franchised business You may sign a Development Agreement in addition to the Franchise Agreement If you sign the Development Agreement, you will have the right to open additional The Inside Coup businesses in a manner consistent with the Development Schedule outshined in the Development Agreement You will be required to sign our then current Franchise Agreement with respect to each additional The Inside Coup franchised business opened, which may differ from the current Franchise Agreement included with this Disclosure Document If you commit to at least two (2) additional The Inside Coup franchised businesses, you will receive a reduced Initial Franchise Fee as to each of the three (3) The Inside Coup Businesses The minimum development and development schedule will be negotiated between you and Franchisor prior to your execution of the Development Agreement

Excerpted from The Inside Coup's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

The Inside Coup franchise: quick answers

How much does The Inside Coup franchise cost?
$42,900 – $48,700 all-in to open, per The Inside Coup's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many The Inside Coup units are there?
7 units at the end of 2017 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have The Inside Coup's units held up?
100% of units at risk between 2015 and 2017 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).