BATH FITTER franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a BATH FITTER franchise takes $225,500 – $515,500 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $89,000 – $195,000. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 2.5% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 3%. To qualify, BATH FITTER asks for $50,000 in liquid cash. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
BATH FITTER franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $89,000 | $195,000 | $89,000 to $195,000 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $225,500 | $515,500 | $225,500 to $515,500 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | Not disclosed1 | Not disclosed1 | ||
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $50,000 | $50,000 | $50,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $225,500 | $515,500 | $225,500 to $515,500 | |
- 1 "Not disclosed" means BATH FITTER's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 2.5% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 3% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | 5 years |
See the full BATH FITTER cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How BATH FITTER's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where BATH FITTER's disclosed cost sits against the Home Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $225,500 — about 1.9× the Home Services median of $116,350.
- Initial franchise fee of $89,000 — about 1.6× the Home Services median of $54,450.
Category medians are computed from the Home Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Home Services franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How BATH FITTER's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2022–2022: began the window at 97 units; 0 units opened, 0 closed, ending at 97 units.
Not enough history to compute a survival figure — we need at least three years of unit data, and we don't extrapolate.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for BATH FITTER or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask BATH FITTER for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether BATH FITTER is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether BATH FITTER grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only BATH FITTER can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the BATH FITTER franchise
BATH FITTER is a home services franchisor with 97 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2022 and 2022, it began the window at 97 units; its filings record 0 unit openings and 0 closures, ending at 97 units. Its parent company is Bath Fitter Holdings Inc..
Litigation history not in our data for BATH FITTER — FDD Item 3 is the primary source to check directly.
BATH FITTER franchise: quick answers
- How much does a BATH FITTER franchise cost?
- $225,500 – $515,500 all-in to open, per BATH FITTER's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many BATH FITTER units are there?
- 97 units at the end of 2022 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).