Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

Skin Type Solutions franchise: cost, fees & unit track record

Health & FitnessFDD entity year 2016

No veteran incentive on file (as of 2026-05) — none documented in the sources we can check, which is not proof the brand offers none. Ask the brand directly, or see brands with documented veteran incentives.

Visit Skin Type Solutions's franchise page — the franchisor's own site, where questions we can't answer (like territory availability) belong.

Thin filing data. Skin Type Solutions's filings disclose only some of the figures we track. Every gap below is marked "Not disclosed" — we publish the gap instead of estimating it.

Opening a Skin Type Solutions franchise takes $8,000 – $25,500 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $7,500. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated. The ledger below itemizes every figure we can source for Skin Type Solutions, each one dated, so you can check the numbers before anyone gets your contact details.

Skin Type Solutions franchise costs and fees

The Skin Type Solutions all-in cost ledger
Verification markCost itemRange
Source-cited figureInitial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing$7,500
Source-cited figureInitial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs$8,000 to $25,500
Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimumNot disclosed1
Footed totalCash to open (all-in range)$8,000 to $25,500
  1. 1 "Not disclosed" means Skin Type Solutions's filings do not state this figure. We publish the gap instead of estimating it.
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filings (FDD-derived dataset)Tickmark legend: how we verify
Ongoing fees and term
RoyaltyOngoing, % of salesNot disclosed
Ad fundOngoing, % of salesUp to 5%
Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement10 years
as of 2026-05 · Source: franchise disclosure filingsHow we check these figures

See the full Skin Type Solutions cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't

How Skin Type Solutions's cost compares

A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Skin Type Solutions's disclosed cost sits against the Health & Fitness category:

  • Minimum startup cost of $8,000 — about 96% below the Health & Fitness median of $184,861.
  • Initial franchise fee of $7,500 — about 85% below the Health & Fitness median of $49,000.

Category medians are computed from the Health & Fitness brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Health & Fitness franchises

Get free info about Skin Type Solutions

Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.

Get more information about Skin Type Solutions + 4 moreStep 1 of 2 — your free info kit, no cost. Start with your email.

Where we send your free info kit.

Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.

How Skin Type Solutions's units have held up

Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2014–2017: began the window at 0 units; 105 units opened, 5 closed, ending at 100 units.

105 units opened and 5 closed between 2014 and 2017.2014: 14 opened2015: 36 opened2016: 33 opened2017: 22 opened2017: 5 closed
95.2%
of units at risk 2015–2017 did not close
Openings above the line in ink; closures below it in red. Skin Type Solutions began the window at 0 units. 105 units opened and 5 closed between 2014 and 2017.How we compute this

What about earnings?

We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Skin Type Solutions or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Skin Type Solutions for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.

How to read the earnings evidence: how much do franchise owners make?

What this data can't tell you

Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:

The hours and the labor
No dataset field says whether Skin Type Solutions is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
How hands-on the ownership really is
"Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Skin Type Solutions grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Skin Type Solutions can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
What owners earn
Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.

About the Skin Type Solutions franchise

Skin Type Solutions is a health & fitness franchisor with 100 units at the end of 2017 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2014 and 2017, it began the window at 0 units; its filings record 105 unit openings and 5 closures, ending at 100 units. Its parent company is Skin Type Solutions Franchise System, LLC.

No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.

From the franchisor's materials

The following information describes the Skin Type Solutions franchise program, portions of which are discussed in greater detail in subsequent sections of this Franchise Disclosure Document You, as an independent business person, assume all of the risks of the business venture since business is not generated by one party for the other You must rely on your own business judgment in deciding whether or not to purchase a Skin Type Solutions franchise The STS franchise program is available to any size franchisee and is not based on referrals, volume or the value of franchisee's business We authorize qualified entities (franchisees) to operate Skin Type Solutions Displays (STS Displays) within their own primary business pursuant to a written franchise agreement (the “Franchise Agreement”, attached as Exhibit “B” to this Disclosure Document) Each franchisee is also provided a free on-line sales internet selling site (“Franchisees Internet STS Store”), which will be managed and operated by us or our then exclusive STSA Product distributor Skin Type Solutions Displays are located within the existing business premises of our franchisees STS Displays implement our business system, under the name and service mark “Skin Type Solutions” along with the other service marks, pending patent and copyrights (described and set forth in Article 13 & 14 herein) in order to exclusively sell Skin Type Solutions Approved skincare products (STSA Products) Franchisees Internet STS Store will sell authorized STSA Products duplicating each franchisees' in office product line and pricing enabling patients to re-order their" STSA products as more specifically described in Item 8 STS Displays are miniaturized retail businesses and include a permanent shelving, graphic and signage installation on an empty office wall ranging in size from 55 square feet to 70 square feet or mobile kiosks, all designed to fit m almost any business premises The franchisee is responsible for posting that it is the owner and has a financial interest in its STS Display STS Displays provide the opportunity for a franchisee to develop an additional profit center for its existing business without materially increasing its fixed and variable costs Our franchise program does not charge any royalty fees The Franchisor's income is derived from (i) initial franchise fees, (ii) our profit share or processing fee from the sale of STSA Products topical products and injectable products (from the revocable injectable amenity program via service fees and rebates) sold to franchisees by us or our authorized manufacturers, suppliers, vendors and distributors, and unknown undeveloped income sources yet unknown Franchisees are required to purchase their STSA products from the Franchisor or its authorized distributor provided the STSA product is sold at the lowest price available Typically, all topical and injectable product purchases are paid by STS franchisee's credit card charge at the time of purchase The STSA Products that will be sold in the STS Displays are skincare products that have been approved by Us and classified to be efficacious to one or more of the 16 Baumann Skin Types® STSA Products contain the right ingredients for each Skin Type, contain sufficient amounts of active ingredients to be effective, do not contain counterproductive ingredients, are formulated effectively, are packaged to maintain stability of the active ingredients, are cosmetically elegant (smell good and feel good) and have received positive responses from those who have used them The STSA Products may include brands currently on the market and sold elsewhere or may be brands exclusive to the Franchisor Presently existing are STSA Products that are existing rebranded skin care products with an exclusive brand controlled by Franchisor or its affiliates or newly invented skincare products, all of which will be referred to in this disclosure document as Skin Type Solutions “proprietary skincare products” 8 STSA Products are marketed and sold thru the education and application of the patent pending Baumann Skin Typing System This analysis enables STS Displays to provide customized scientifically validated advice for individuals of every skin color, ethnicity, age, and sex Use of the Baumann Skin Typing System and the purchase ofSTSA Products by franchisee's patients/customers/consumers (hereinafter referred to herein as consumers) enable them to achieve (i) proper skincare recommendations, (ii) real assistance identifying skin type and condition, (iii) easier to follow simplified beauty and health routines Our franchise program contains restrictions and limitations on your business operations as it is structured to create a profit center derived from only your consumers and their families and friends, (i) you are restricted as to whom you may sell STSA Products (see Item 8), (ii) you are restricted as to where you may sell STSA, Products (see Item 8), (ill) you are restricted as to the type and nature of your advertising and marketing activities (see Item 11), (iv) there are restrictions as to the prices charged on Franchisee Internet STS Store (see Item 8) and (v) you are restricted as to whom you may purchase your STSA Product inventory (see Item 8), STS Shelving and STS Graphics and Signs (see Item 8)

Excerpted from Skin Type Solutions's own marketing materials — the brand's voice, not ours, and not checked by us (earnings and return claims removed).

Skin Type Solutions franchise: quick answers

How much does a Skin Type Solutions franchise cost?
$8,000 – $25,500 all-in to open, per Skin Type Solutions's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
How many Skin Type Solutions units are there?
100 units at the end of 2017 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
How have Skin Type Solutions's units held up?
95.2% of units at risk between 2015 and 2017 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).