Stemtree franchise: cost, fees & unit track record
Opening a Stemtree franchise takes $92,800 – $186,300 all-in, per its franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05). The initial franchise fee is $44,500. Ongoing, franchisees pay a royalty of 8% on sales plus an ad-fund contribution of up to 2%. To qualify, Stemtree asks for $80,000 in liquid cash and a $138,000 net worth. Anything the filings do not state is marked "Not disclosed" below — never estimated.
Stemtree franchise costs and fees
| Verification mark | Cost item | Low | High | Range |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial franchise feeOne-time, paid to the franchisor at signing | $44,500 | $44,500 | $44,500 | |
| Initial investment (all-in)FDD Item 7-derived range: build-out, equipment, opening costs | $92,800 | $186,300 | $92,800 to $186,300 | |
| Net worth requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $138,000 | $138,000 | $138,000 | |
| Liquid cash requiredFranchisor's stated qualification minimum | $80,000 | $80,000 | $80,000 | |
| Cash to open (all-in range) | $92,800 | $186,300 | $92,800 to $186,300 |
| RoyaltyOngoing, % of sales | 8% |
|---|---|
| Ad fundOngoing, % of sales | Up to 2% |
| Initial termLength of the first franchise agreement | Not disclosed |
See the full Stemtree cost breakdown — what's in that number and what isn't
How Stemtree's cost compares
A dollar figure means more with a yardstick. Here is where Stemtree's disclosed cost sits against the Professional Services category:
- Minimum startup cost of $92,800 — about in line with the Professional Services median of $84,700.
- Initial franchise fee of $44,500 — about in line with the Professional Services median of $39,700.
Category medians are computed from the Professional Services brands in our data that disclosed each figure — a benchmark for scale, not a quality judgment. See all Professional Services franchises
Free info kit — costs, fees, and unit track record. You choose who may follow up.
Figures look outdated? Report outdated info.
How Stemtree's units have held up
Openings and closures from FDD Item 20-style unit history, 2019–2021: began the window at 2 units; 11 units opened, 4 closed, ending at 9 units.
What about earnings?
We don't publish per-brand earnings figures — for Stemtree or anyone else. The only primary source is Item 19 of the brand's own franchise disclosure document (FDD), and no law requires a franchisor to publish one, so the "average owner income" numbers circulating elsewhere are usually unsourced or survivorship-biased. Ask Stemtree for its current FDD and read Item 19 yourself — and if there is no Item 19, that silence is information too.
What this data can't tell you
Everything on this page comes from disclosure filings — fees, ranges, and unit counts. Four questions that matter just as much are not in any filing we can source, so we say so instead of guessing:
- The hours and the labor
- No dataset field says whether Stemtree is a manage-from-a-laptop business or a 60-hour week in disguise. Item 15 of the FDD states whether you're obligated to run the business personally, and Item 11 lists what the franchisor actually does for you — then ask current owners what their week looks like (validation calls), not the sales team.
- How hands-on the ownership really is
- "Semi-absentee" is a pitch, not a filing field. Treat any hands-off claim as unverified until it's consistent with Item 15 and with what multiple current franchisees tell you — what absentee ownership actually means.
- Your territory — whether it's protected, and whether it's open
- Two territory questions sit outside our data. Whether Stemtree grants a protected or exclusive area is set in Item 12 of the FDD and varies brand to brand — some grant none, and the carve-outs (online sales, national accounts) matter as much as the map. And filing data can't say what's open in your market this month; only Stemtree can confirm current availability. Ask both before you inquire, and get the answer in writing.
- What owners earn
- Covered honestly above: our dataset has no earnings fields, the only primary source is the brand's own Item 19, and here is how to read that evidence.
About the Stemtree franchise
Stemtree is a professional services franchisor with 9 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history). Between 2019 and 2021, it began the window at 2 units; its filings record 11 unit openings and 4 closures, ending at 9 units. Its parent company is Stemtree Franchising, LLC. The filings indicate financing options are available; terms come from the franchisor, not from us.
No franchise-related lawsuits reported in the disclosure data we hold (FDD Item 3, as of 2026-05) — an absence in our sources, not a guarantee; confirm against the brand's current FDD.
From the franchisor's materials
The STEMTREEfranchise model offers education services that focus on the core curricula of science, technology, and engineering. STEMTREE’s programs nurture each student's inner scientist through innovative, engaging, and hands-on learning experience, built upon a solid foundation of scientific curricula, giving each student the edge for success in today’s schools and the world. Whether achieving higher grades in the classroom, helping students become successful science professionals or engineers, or simply instilling and cultivating an appreciation and a deep understanding of science and technology, STEMTREEoffers after-school programs, with or without student pick-ups, one-on-one tutoring, educational camps, home-school study programs, and even birthday parties and event-based programs. STEMTREE’s business model requires a fixed commercial location comprising approximately 1, 500 to 2, 500 square feet of space.
Stemtree franchise: quick answers
- How much does a Stemtree franchise cost?
- $92,800 – $186,300 all-in to open, per Stemtree's franchise disclosure filings (data as of 2026-05).
- How many Stemtree units are there?
- 9 units at the end of 2021 (FDD Item 20-style unit history).
- How have Stemtree's units held up?
- 69.2% of units at risk between 2019 and 2021 did not close, per our metric recomputed from FDD Item 20-style unit history (methodology published on our verification page).