Boba tea franchise costs and what the work is really like
Across 31 boba tea franchise brands we track, 30 disclose a minimum investment. The median minimum cash-to-open is $195,245, with disclosed totals running $26,842 – $1,144,400; initial franchise fees run $12,467 – $244,800. Every figure is FDD-derived — where a brand won't say, we print "not disclosed" instead of guessing.
Compare boba tea franchise costs, brand by brand
What the work is really like
Boba runs on an afternoon-to-night clock: stores fill after school and after dinner, close at 10 or 11 p.m., and do their biggest volume on weekends — the owner's schedule tilts opposite a 9-to-5. Summer is the peak season, and campus-adjacent stores sag hard during academic breaks, so read a location's calendar before its rent.
It's small-footprint, high-theater beverage retail: standing work, repetitive prep (brewing, sealing, restocking), and a young part-time crew whose availability turns over every semester — scheduling churn is the quiet workload nobody prices in. Most first-store owners work the counter for months.
Ingredient supply chains matter more than in most food trades — tapioca, teas, and toppings often come through the franchisor, so read the required-purchase terms in the FDD closely. Demand skews to malls, campuses, and Asian-grocery-anchored centers; a site your franchisor approves is not the same as a site that fits the trade. Ask existing operators what their slowest weekday looks like.
Boba tea franchise costs, brand by brand
| Brand | Cash to open | Franchise fee |
|---|---|---|
| Tapioca Express | $250,000 – $509,100 | $58,400 – $69,000 |
| Gong Cha | $184,750 – $627,060 | $64,250 – $101,700 |
| Happy Lemon | $289,000 – $607,000 | $95,000 – $125,000 |
| Chatime | $293,100 – $479,900 | $69,900 – $91,400 |
| Kung Fu Tea | $169,000 – $428,000 | $59,000 – $132,000 |
| Ding Tea | $195,240 – $324,170 | $58,500 |
| Bambu | $155,000 – $309,000 | $49,000 |
| Teapioca Lounge | $310,650 – $619,480 | n/d |
| Hiccups Restaurant & Teahouse | $354,500 – $573,500 | $208,500 – $241,500 |
| Tin Drum Asian Kitchen | $617,250 – $1,144,400 | $84,000 – $104,000 |
| Lollicup | $195,250 – $558,250 | $26,000 – $46,000 |
| Sharetea | $295,900 – $502,300 | $58,000 – $64,000 |
| It's Boba Time | $289,524 – $437,300 | $35,000 |
| i-Tea | $209,500 – $526,000 | $52,500 – $72,500 |
| CoCo Fresh Tea & Juice | $221,300 – $454,000 | $49,400 – $53,000 |
| Bee & Tea | $147,500 – $287,100 | n/d |
| Bobablastic | $69,000 – $126,800 | $20,000 |
| PalgongTea | $147,500 – $185,700 | $20,000 |
| VIVI bubble tea | $166,900 – $305,100 | $28,800 |
| Boba Mia--now called It's Boba Time | $173,150 – $473,000 | $15,000 – $25,000 |
| Te'Amo Boba Bar | $292,000 – $565,000 | $59,000 – $71,000 |
| Bubblelicious | $26,842 – $331,300 | $12,467 – $244,800 |
| I'Milky | $149,315 – $612,500 | $35,000 – $52,500 |
| TP Tea Shop | $340,210 – $500,470 | $105,500 – $115,000 |
| Bubbleology Cafe | $213,500 – $374,100 | n/d |
| Sugar Sugar (Area Representative) | $106,000 – $320,500 | n/d |
| Boba More | $113,200 – $262,600 | $20,000 |
| Boba Nation | $325,000 – $475,500 | $38,000 – $45,000 |
| Krak Boba | $183,500 – $360,500 | $49,500 |
| Vogue Bubble Tea Coffee Bar | $180,900 – $330,250 | $30,000 – $90,000 |
| Boba Smoothies | n/d | n/d |
Each brand page has the footed cost ledger: fee, Item-7 range, royalty, and unit history — with "not disclosed" printed where a figure is missing.
Compare brands in this trade: Tapioca Express vs Gong Cha — the two fullest data records here; swap in any brand from the table above on the compare page.
Red flags to check before any boba tea discovery call
- Item 7's low number is not your number. Sales teams quote the bottom of the range; outfit your budget to the high end plus working capital.
- No Item 19 earnings claim? Ask why. If earnings promises appear in conversation but not in the FDD, that gap is the answer.
- Item 20 exits. Compare closures and terminations to openings over the last three years — our brand pages compute this for you.
- "Semi-absentee" pitches. Boba tea operations still need a manager; if it's not you, that salary belongs in your math.
- Litigation history (Item 3) and franchisee-association disputes — search both before the discovery day, not after.
- Validate past the reference list. Call operators the franchisor did NOT hand you, including former franchisees.
Boba tea franchise: quick answers
- How much does a boba tea franchise cost?
- The median minimum investment across the 30 boba tea franchise brands with disclosed figures is $195,245; disclosed totals run $26,842 – $1,144,400. Costs vary widely by format and real estate — anchor on a specific brand's FDD Item 7, not the trade average.
- What franchise fee do boba tea franchises charge?
- Disclosed initial franchise fees among the boba tea brands we track run $12,467 – $244,800 (median $49,450). The fee is one line of the total investment — build-out, equipment, and working capital usually dwarf it.
- How many boba tea franchise brands are there?
- Our dataset matches 31 franchise brands to the boba tea trade, 30 of which disclose investment figures. Matching is by industry plus trade keywords in the brand's name or FDD-derived description, so adjacent concepts can appear — we'd rather show the match rule than hide it.
More food & beverage research
Keep researching
Still researching?
Every boba tea brand above links to its full cost ledger — fee, royalty, and how its units have held up.