Skip to the content
Franchises Opportunity

The best franchises to own in 2026 — ranked by data, not by ad spend

Most "best franchise" lists are editorial products brands can pay into. This one is computed: every brand with a complete data record and three usable years of unit history — 938 brands — is scored on 3-year unit survival (45%), unit trend (25%), and disclosure completeness (30%), identically. By that measure, the top three are Stretch Lab (100), Salons By JC (100), and Goldfish Swim School (100). The score measures track record and transparency; it does not measure earnings, and it cannot measure your fit with the daily work.

The top 25, scored

#BrandScoreCash to openFranchise fee3-yr units3-yr survival
1Stretch LabHealth & Fitness100$269,019 – $610,224$157,150 – $210,350+2193-yr survival: 100%
2Salons By JCHealth & Fitness100$1,424,175 – $2,172,400$60,000+353-yr survival: 100%
3Goldfish Swim SchoolHealth & Fitness100$1,673,263 – $3,728,930$50,000 – $60,000+433-yr survival: 100%
4SNELLING STAFFING SERVICESProfessional Services100$45,000 – $147,750$3,500 – $26,000+673-yr survival: 100%
5MultivistaProfessional Services100$221,500 – $651,500$32,250 – $173,000+203-yr survival: 100%
6Sir GroutProfessional Services100$120,930 – $183,110$70,950 – $74,050+153-yr survival: 100%
7WaveMAX Coin LaundryHome Services100$359,105 – $1,600,850$54,950+333-yr survival: 100%
8Central Bark Doggy Day CareProfessional Services100$522,474 – $1,039,974$75,000 – $77,500+93-yr survival: 100%
9Generator SupercenterProfessional Services100$434,950 – $858,250$50,000+253-yr survival: 100%
10QualicareHealth & Fitness100$92,600 – $204,500$53,700 – $56,200+113-yr survival: 100%
11Andy's Frozen CustardFood & Beverage100$622,000 – $1,490,500$32,000+153-yr survival: 100%
12Songs for SeedsProfessional Services100$88,700 – $111,100$45,000+203-yr survival: 100%
13Hounds Town USAProfessional Services100$358,900 – $770,000$94,300 – $96,300+153-yr survival: 100%
14One Stop NutritionFood & Beverage100$199,953 – $299,856$25,000+113-yr survival: 100%
15Scissors & ScotchHealth & Fitness100$502,300 – $1,085,034$105,000 – $206,000+133-yr survival: 100%
16A Place At HomeProfessional Services100$91,195 – $166,012$50,200 – $50,900+113-yr survival: 100%
17Paisano'sFood & Beverage100$376,000 – $591,500$40,000+63-yr survival: 100%
18Chocolate WorksFood & Beverage100$290,500 – $456,600$50,000+53-yr survival: 100%
19KLA SchoolsProfessional Services100$1,121,000 – $5,804,750$78,500 – $98,500+73-yr survival: 100%
20Rock & BrewsFood & Beverage100$1,510,000 – $2,505,000$50,000+103-yr survival: 100%
21B.GOODFood & Beverage100$400,500 – $679,500$40,000+113-yr survival: 100%
22Zoom RoomPet Services100$302,523 – $464,712$61,700+53-yr survival: 100%
23My House FitnessHealth & Fitness100$115,445 – $213,298$49,500+43-yr survival: 100%
24PJ's Coffee of New OrleansFood & Beverage100$459,000 – $1,152,000$10,000 – $35,000+13-yr survival: 100%
25HERLIFE MagazineProfessional Services100$55,000 – $100,000$35,000+13-yr survival: 100%
Source: FDD-derived filings · Score: Score = 0.45 × 3-yr unit survival + 0.25 × unit trend + 0.3 × disclosure completeness · 3-yr units = net unit change over the brand's three most recent reported years · n/d = not disclosed in the filings we cover

Each brand page carries the footed cost ledger — fee, Item-7 range, royalty, unit history chart — with "not disclosed" printed where a figure is missing.

The best franchise to own, industry by industry

The same formula, applied inside each industry — the top-scoring brand per category, because "best overall" and "best in the trade you'd actually work" are different questions.

How this ranking works — the full methodology

Eligibility. A brand is ranked only if its data record meets our completeness floor (dataQuality ≥ 90 — the same gate that decides which profiles index) and it has at least three usable years of disclosed unit history. Brands without usable unit history are not ranked: absence of track-record evidence is not evidence. 938 of the 5,719 brands we profile qualify.

Score = 0.45 × 3-yr unit survival + 0.25 × unit trend + 0.3 × disclosure completeness

  • 3-yr unit survival (45%) — the share of units at risk over the brand's three most recent reported years that did not close, recomputed from filed unit history. The source's own retention field is corrupt and is never used; the full method is published here.
  • Unit trend (25%) — relative net unit change over the same three-year window, clamped at ±25% and mapped to a 0–100 scale (no change = 50). Growth is a signal, not a promise — hence the clamp and the smaller weight.
  • Disclosure completeness (30%) — the share of 8 core figures the brand actually disclosed: investment range, initial fee, royalty, net worth and liquid-capital requirements, term length, and unit count. Brands that show their numbers rank above brands that hide them.

What the score does not measure: earnings (no earnings fields exist in the data we can honestly source — see how much franchise owners make), support quality, and whether you would want the daily work. Ties break by unit count, then name, so the list is identical on every rebuild. No brand paid to appear, and paying brands get no lift — here is how this site makes money.

Best-franchise questions, answered straight

What are the best franchises to own in 2026?
Ranked by our published formula — 3-year unit survival (45%), unit trend (25%), and disclosure completeness (30%) across 938 fully documented brands — By that measure, the top three are Stretch Lab (100), Salons By JC (100), and Goldfish Swim School (100). "Best" here means the strongest verifiable track record and the most complete disclosure, computed identically for every brand.
What makes a franchise "the best"?
On this page, exactly three measurable things: units that stay open (our recomputed 3-year survival), a unit count moving the right way, and a franchisor that disclosed its numbers. The score deliberately does NOT measure earnings — no earnings fields exist in disclosure-derived data at this scale — and it cannot measure your fit with the daily work, which matters more than any ranking.
Are these rankings paid placements?
No. The list is ranked by the formula published above, and paying and non-paying brands get identical treatment. Stretch Lab ranks first because its numbers rank first — not because anyone bought the position. Most "top franchise" lists cannot say that.
Why isn't a famous brand on this list?
Three honest reasons: its data record is incomplete (brands below our completeness floor aren't ranked), it lacks three usable years of unit history (no track record evidence means no rank — absence of evidence is not evidence), or it doesn't franchise at all. A missing brand is a data verdict, not an editorial one.

Keep researching

A ranking is a shortlist starter, not a decision

Every ranked brand links to its full profile — fee, cash to open, royalty, and the unit-history chart behind its survival score, dated per figure.

See real franchise costs